Viewer Mail Sunday

Sunday is my day of rest – seriously.  It’s a lot of work keeping up with the ranch and I take Sundays as my down day.  There’s a lot of good info in the comments on the blog but I’ve gotten some questions as well via email (I presume folks don’t want their name/whatever on the blog) that IMHO would be of benefit to the readers.  So I’ll address some of those here.

First up is JT.  JT States “A lot of your info leaves folks wide open to aggression from the OPFOR.  The government isn’t going to be as easy to stop as you believe”.

JT, yup I know – I used to be one of those guys.  Right now the focus is basic.  And the OPFOR I’m really kind of focusing on at this point is the bands of roving dirtbags that will be venturing out of the cities and towns once those have been picked clean.  I’m all too aware of the recent revelation of the Army FM for Internment and Resettlement Ops – I’ve known about it for quite a while.  But we’re not that far along into the concept yet.   I’m holding to the concept that for the first couple of weeks/months .gov is going to be as busy as that one legged man in an asskicking contest trying to get or maintain hold on those densely populated urban centers and isn’t going to turn its immediate attention to rural folks.  That jump down the rabbit hole is coming later on – trust me.

Next up AP (Not Arctic Patriot)   asks “Would it be realistic to try and use the stuff you’re posting to cover a larger area?”

Sure it would.  Take for example how a county is broken up into Townships.  Those rural townships could implement a lot of what I write about.  The intention of the blog is to give you cheap, realistic, and simple examples to work with.  You’ll rarely see me say that something has to absolutely be a certain way.  Take what I’m writing and go Semper Gumby with it.

Jan wrote “Is it really such an advantage to move out to a rural area if things collapse?”

Absolutely for about a million factors.  I could go on and on about it but one thing is clear:  Folks living in cities and towns have nowhere near the sense of community that rural folks do.  And it’s plain to see – ask a guy living in a town how often his neighbor five houses down waves or says “hey” to him when he drives by.  Then ask a rural dweller how often the guy living down the road a mile waves or honks when he drives by.  There is the beginning of your answer.  Look:  Urban centers accomplish one thing – they dehumanize and desocialize people.  That’s why you don’t read about riots in Willis Texas when someone isn’t convicted of a crime on TV, no-one burns cars in the streets when their football team wins (or looses) in Magee Mississippi, and no one gets their panties in a twist over a shooting in Eva Alabama.  GTFO of the city if you want to survive.  I compare and contrast Selcos Blog @ SHTF School (and really if you live in a city you should be reading it) with the Farmer at War.

I also want to apologize to the Amateur Radio crowd.  I did not know Ham was not HAM.  Thank you for the correction.

That brings up another point – the information I am presenting isn’t intended for your local Militia.  It’s aimed at the rural community that has little to no experience in an environment requiring security against an armed and belligerent force.  Although there are some really good suggestions coming in by email and the comments a lot of them just aren’t realistic in this kind of setting.  The average rural guy isn’t going to go out and spend a grand on an AR and ammo, a hundred bucks for a radio that he doesn’t know how to use, the newest ATACs or Pencott, or a couple of hundred on a serious trauma kit.  His priority is going to be  spending his dollars on things he needs now – feed, seed, vet bills, fuel, hell the list is always endless on a ranch or farm.  Simply put his focus is normally immediate.  Which brings me to the next and probably best email I received this week.

Damon asked “Do you have any suggestions  on ways to get everyone onboard now?”

That is a freaking outstanding question.   Reading the Tribal Politics piece will give you a few ideas but there’s a truth that I didn’t put in there.  And that truth is that you won’t get through to some of them until it is really late or too late.  It’s going to take someone getting their barn and home burned to the ground, or a family killed in the front yard, or Mr. Smith shot off of his tractor on the back forty, or a good chunk of their cattle stolen in the middle of the night to wake them up.  This is an absolute truth – People Live in Denial and expect things to get better until the ugly truth hits close to home.  So what do you do?  Tactfully continue to work on them without shoving (because most of the time folks like that will shove back and it makes that hurdle even higher).  Avoid building resentment.  Point out all of the bad shit going on around.  Hell the closer to your locale the better.   But manage your expectations and if possible prepare to bring them into the fold if they survive to their  point of awakening.  I’m also a big advocate of “run what ya brung”.  That means if it’s on hand and serviceable hell use it.

Anyhow Mel asked “How could you possible intend to defend that entire AO at once?”

Mel brother I don’t.  The point defenses are the key to survival.   That terrain in our AO is relevant to the points I made in the entry but also due to proximity, utility, and in most cases ownership.  Defense in depth is a great thing and we’re going to get to the point where I cover that in active and passive defense.  For now it’s out there to give folks an idea of developing standoff.

IronMike asked “Are you using information from one source?” and “how do you develop the ideas you write about?”

IM – here’s what I do.  I think about what it would take to defend my little rural community.  I identify those problems and take what I’ve used before based on my experience, historical examples, and a little research to come up with as simple an answer to  the tactical problem using some basic guidelines – it’s got to be cheap, simple, and reliable.  Also on hand solutions will always take priority over procurement.  Anyhow I get up at about 0330 every morning and at daylight I’m out working the ranch.  While I’m out working I flesh out an idea for the day.  And in the afternoon when I come in I start hammering away at it.   Currently I have a pretty substantial list of things to cover and it keeps getting bigger and bigger.

Snakeman asked if I’m really a lizard farmer.  No I’m not, at least by choice.  I got that nickname from my very young niece who was fascinated on the number of lizards running around in my barn (ground rule is no lizard gets bothered on the ranch – those little fellas eat tons of bugs).  She proudly tells her little friends “My unc’ is a lizard farmer!”.  So now ya know.

As always questions and comments are welcome.  I don’t censor unless a comment if obvious flaming or trolling – asshats need not bother.  Send ’em on to hsci@hughes.net

About Treaded

Semi-retired career and contract troop. I own and maintain my own small ranch out here in beautiful rural America.
This entry was posted in General Info. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

