Azimuth Check

I’ve got a little elective surgery coming up tomorrow morning so if there’s no updates for a couple of days don’t sweat it.  I’m still alive and kicking (hopefully).

Anyway I’m working on the second part of the Zone pieces and since I don’t think I’m going to finish them up before the weekend I thought it would be a good idea to conduct a quick azimuth check.  For those unfamiliar with the term an azimuth check is a procedure when a patrol or party  navigating stops and checks their compass to ensure they’re still headed in the correct direction of travel (known as an azimuth).  The same term is applied to projects and efforts as well by stopping and ensuring you are still heading the direction you intended.

So I’ll start off with my original intent or mission statement for this blog.  I intend this blog to be a source of information for the novice or untrained rural farmer/rancher/resident to assist in developing and implementing a defensive plan for their homestead and area (tribal) of operations.

Are we still sticking with it?  After reviewing the information presented thus far I’m pretty happy we’re still headed that way.  There’s been a couple of sidebars I indulged in as a response to multiple email queries (when more than one guy asks the same question it’s sound to answer it) and so far I’ve managed to frame those in relation to the intent.

Someone asked why I’m doing this.  The short answer is a few years back a fellow prepper handed me a couple of books and asked me to read them and give an opinion.  Those books were Ragnar Benson’s The Modern Survival Retreat, Starting a New Life in Rural America: 21 Things You Need to Know Before You Make Your Move, and James W. Rawles How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It.  All of these books have virtues but when they stand alone aren’t a concise reference.  And one thing that I have heard over the last few years is that there’s a lot of stuff you just have to dig through to get to the actual “good info”.  That good info being the Tactics, Techniques, and Procedures (TTPs) of planning and conducting defense.  I kept that in the back of my mind for a while and then I ran across John Mosby’s NousDefions blog.  TTPs that were simple, straighforward, explained so even a novice could understand it.  Mosby like many of us has taken his experience and TTPs he knows works  and put it out in a nice simple format for the uninitiated.   Given the motivation I found with reading Mosby’s blog I have set out determined to do the same with rural defense.

I’m still getting emails asking about urban TTPs as well.  Folks the only urban experience I have is fighting as a soldier and contractor in some of the worst urban shitholes in the world.  That is a vastly different experience from urban survival.  I had dedicated support 99% of the time.  If you’re going to email me asking about urban settings my response is going to be twofold.  First – get the hell out of that urban area.  Second if you can’t then start reading Selcos Blog @ SHTF School.  Selco  survived in a real SHTF setting not as a soldier but as a survivor – a totally different experience.

I had an email the other day asking about integrating with local militias and patriot groups after TSHTF.  That topic is going to get covered in the very near future as a break from defense planning.  Quick answer:  I’m for it with reservations.  More to come on that later.

Over the next few months I’m going to continue fleshing out the case study and then wargame it some so you get a better idea of the process.  Along the way I’ll probably throw some concepts out like establishing and training a Rural Reactionary Defense Force (RRDF) and other concepts intended to increase your survivability.  I don’t intend to go into things like “how to store water” and “which type of barrel is best for growing taters” or “how to wire your house for solar power”.  Those things are basic sustainment and there’s some damn good blogs out there already covering that.

As always I welcome constructive criticism and feedback.  And I already know my pics and artwork suck.  Comments and whatnot can be sent to hsci AT hughes.net.

About Treaded

Semi-retired career and contract troop. I own and maintain my own small ranch out here in beautiful rural America.
This entry was posted in General Info. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Azimuth Check

  1. Badger says:

    Azimuth check good, fine pace count. Best with the surgery. Happy trails & see ya when you’re able. Don’t forget to take a nap. Naps are underestimated. 😉

  2. idahobob says:

    Yer doin’ a fine job. Keep ‘er a comin’.

    “Minor surgery”…..any surgery sucks!

    Our prayers go with ya.

    Bob
    III

  3. e-5,hard stripe. and did it twice in 1 year. says:

    “shootin a back azimuth” rings a bell from shake and bake sckool.ft. benning,1970.Instant NCOs we were.

    • Treaded says:

      One of my old XOs was an NCOCS grad. As he described it “90 days and Poof” you’re an NCO. He managed to make SSG out of it and he has told me how his reception in Vietnam when he got to his unit was less than favorable. Later he did get out and go to college and come back in as an officer and he has always said what NCOCS and Vietnam taught him paid off immeasurably as an O.

  4. TOR says:

    My .02 cents:

    Consider taking a step back in terms of the level of stuff you are posting on home/ retreat defense. A couple of 99, 100 level classes on coming up with a basic retreat defense plan might benefit a lot of folks. Stuff like post a guy at this window, not that door, etc), clear out some brush from near the house, etc, etc. These things would benefit folks without any military background who either don’t even know what they don’t know or are too embarassed to ask.

    Also consider posting all but the most specific email questions on your blog. Odds are high if one guy asks there are a few others who for whatever reason didn’t ask.

    Keep up the great work!

    • Treaded says:

      Thanks for the comments. One of my goals is to try and keep explain why any certain action or measure is taken in simple form. It can be a challenge but as I progress through the case study I think it can be broken down far enough to be understood by most. I will be making the email a regular thing probably starting next weekend. I’ve done it once so far and it was well received so I believe it’s a more than worthy effort.

Leave a Reply

